Topics and program committee

The conference is divided in 12 topical areas that cover the most recent advances in ultrafast optical science and technology. Each topical area is represented in the program committee by a topical lead. Topical leads work with the program chairs to ensure that there is a robust selection of invited and submitted papers that represent each particular topic.

Program chairs

  • Alan Fry (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, USA)
  • Michelle Sander (Boston University, USA)
  • Christophe Dorrer (Laboratory for Laser Energetics, USA)

Topical areas and topical leads

  1. Novel methods for generating and manipulating ultrashort pulses, Uwe Griebner (Max Born Institute, Germany)
  2. Ultrahigh peak-power laser systems and related technologies, Brendan Reagan (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA)
  3. High average power ultrafast lasers, Thomas Metzger (Trumpf Scientific Lasers, Germany)
  4. Attosecond pulse generation, Cord Arnold (Lund University, Sweden)
  5. Methods for shaping and measuring ultrashort pulses, Christophe Dorrer (Laboratory for Laser Energetics, USA)
  6. Few-cycle pulses, carrier-envelope phase control, frequency combs, Günter Steinmeyer (Max Born Institute, Germany)
  7. Coherent beam combining and pulse synthesis, Hanieh Fattahi (Max Planck Institute for the Science of Life, Germany)
  8. Ultrashort XUV and x-ray sources, Sergio Carbajo (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, USA)
  9. Ultrafast Mid-infrared and Terahertz sources, Ioachim Pupeza (Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics (MPQ), Garching, Germany)
  10. Enabling technologies for ultrafast sources, Valentin Wittwer (Université de Neuchâtel, Switzerland)
  11. Spectral broadening and pulse compression, John Travers (Heriott Watt University, Edinburgh, Scotland)
  12. Ultrafast laser applications that drive technology advancements and innovation, Mariano Trigo (SLAC National AcceleratorLaboratory, USA)

Full program committee members

  • Uwe Griebner, Max Born Institute, Germany

  • Brendan Reagan, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA

  • Thomas Metzger, Trumpf Scientific Lasers, Germany

  • Cord Arnold, Lund University, Sweden)

  • Christophe Dorrer, Laboratory for Laser Energetics, USA

  • Günter Steinmeyer, Max Born Institute, Germany

  • Hanieh Fattahi, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Life, Germany

  • Sergio Carbajo, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, USA

  • Ioachim Pupeza, Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics (MPQ), Garching, Germany

  • Valentin Wittwer, Université de Neuchâtel, Switzerland

  • John Travers, Heriott Watt University, Edinburgh, Scotland

  • Mariano Trigo, SLAC National AcceleratorLaboratory, USA

  • Sterling Backus, Thorlabs Inc., USA

  • Giulio Cerullo, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

  • Takao Fuji, Toyota Technical Institute, Japan

  • Juliet Gopinath, University of Colorado at Boulder, USA

  • Oliver Heckl, University of Vienna, Austria

  • Michael Hemmer, KM Labs, USA

  • Minglie Hu, Tianjin University, China

  • Ömer Ilday, Bilkent University, Turkey

  • Jungwon Kim, KAIST, South Korea

  • Rodrigo Lopez Martens, Laboratoire d’Optique Appliquee, France

  • Carmen Menoni, Colorado State University, USA

  • Chris Phillips, ETH Zürich, Switzerland

  • Jie Qiao, Rochester Institute of Technology, USA

  • Bojan Resan, University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland

  • Jan Rotthardt, University of Jena, Germany

  • Bruno Schmidt, Few-cycle Inc., Canada

  • Kebin Shi, Beijing University, China

  • Camille Sophie-Bres, EPFL, Switzerland

  • Emma Springate, Rutherford, Central Laser Facility, UK

  • Csaba Toth, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, US

  • Adam Wyatt, Rutherford, Central Laser Facility, UK

  • Ajanta Barh, ETH Zürich, Switzerland

  • Amelle Zaïr, Imperial college, UK

  • Anne-Laure Calendron, DESY, Germany

  • Caterina Vozzi, CNR-IFN, Italy

  • Gustavo Torchia, Centro de Investigaciones Opticas CIOP, La Plata, Argentina